Parrot Carrot

by M.J. Hearle

I’m not a parent. Yet. Kids are coming but they’re still a little way down the turnpike. Hopefully, not too far away. It’s accepted wisdom that women start feeling the old tick tock of their biological clock in their early thirties, but you know what? I think men of the same age might be just as susceptible. Sure, you won’t see me going all gooey when I pass a Pumpkin Patch, but these days I do find myself thinking about being a dad from time to time. Occasionally these thoughts aren’t accompanied by a cold sweat and sense of impending doom.  

For me, one of the most attractive prospects of parenthood is the opportunity to share everything I loved when I was a kid with my own children. Movies like The Wizard of Oz, The Dark CrystalLabyrinth and the Texas Chainsaw Massacre. No doubt the Wicked Witch of the West and the Skexis will provoke the odd nightmare or two but that’s a healthy part of growing up. After all, nightmares made me the man I am today. That said, I am a little concerned about the impact of David Bowie’s Labyrinth codpiece on impressionable minds. Some scars never heal.

Naturally, reading time will be a big part of my household. What with me being an author and all. Enid Blyton’s The Faraway Tree is one of the earliest novels that caught my imagination so that’s one title that will definitely be getting dusted off. It’s been nearly twenty five years since I last opened it and I’m curious to see if the adventures of old Moonface and the Saucepan Man still have the power to entrance. I suspect they will. Blyton knew what she was doing. Apart from that whole Golliwog thing in Noddy. However, before my kids and I get to The Faraway Tree we’ll probably start with something a little simpler. A clever picture book, perhaps.

Something like PARROT CARROT.

PARROT CARROT introduces early readers to a cast of rhyming creatures. Meet Snake Rake, Gnu Canoe and more in this fantastically original title. It was written by Jol and Kate and Temple, and illustrated by Jon Foye – a trio of talented folks I’m lucky enough to be friends with. Friends or not, I wouldn’t have any hesitation in recommending the book. The wordplay is witty, the illustrations charmingly idiosyncratic and every new page is guaranteed to coax delighted smiles from children and parents alike.

Here’s a peak at the sort of wonderful irreverence you’ll find inside:

Now Jol, Kate and Jon all share an advertising background and as such have a much cannier grasp on marketing than the average author. Being clever clogs, they’ve hit upon the inspired idea of creating a PARROT CARROT iPhone App to accompany the book. Glimpse it in action below:

Pretty nifty, huh? Why didn’t I think about an app for Winter’s Shadow? I’m sure there’s something that could be done with the Occuluma. App developers get in touch and lets make a million.

For information about the book pop over to www.parrotcarrot.com and keep your eyes peeled for more output from Temple & Foye. I suspect PARROT CARROT is only the first of many exciting creative ventures from this disgustingly talented trio.

M. J.

